30 Apr 2012

Youth has a great role in strengthening parliamentary democracy:Harish Rawat

26-April-2012,The Prize Distribution function of the 46th Youth Parliament Competition, 2011-2012 for the schools under the Directorate of Education, Govt. Of NCT of Delhi and NDMC was held in New Delhi today. Shri Harish Rawat, Minister of State in the Ministry of Agriculture, Minister of State in the Ministry of Food Processing Industries and Minister of State in the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs presided over the function and distributed the prizes to the prize-winning students/institutions for their meritorious performance in the Competition.
Speaking in the occasion Shri Harish Rawat said that the youth has a great role in nurturing and strengthening our parliamentary democracy. For any nation the youth is the most important asset as they represent its strength, vitality and vigour. They are the hope for a nation’s future. Shri Rawat said it can be said with conviction that the young parliamentarians have the necessary commitment, zeal and aspiration to further the cause of democracy. He expressed confidence that the ‘Youth Parliament Competitions’ will continue to make an important contribution in disseminating democratic ethos in society.
SSLT Gujarat Sr. Sec. School, Raj Niwas MargDelhi is the winner of the “Pandit Motilal Nehru Running Parliamentary Shield” having stood first in the 46th Youth Parliament Competition. Trophy for the best education district in the competition was awarded to the West ‘A’ Education District, Directorate of Education, Govt. of NCT of Delhi and Trophy for standing first among new entrant schools was awarded to SSLT Gujarat Sr. Sec. School, Raj Niwas Marg, Delhi.  Besides, Trophies were awarded to 8 Schools for their meritorious performance in the competition-

         1.         Govt. Girls. Sr. Secondary SchoolSarojini NagarNew Delhi.
         2.         KIIT World SchoolPitampura Saraswati ViharDelhi.
         3.         Sarvodya Kanya Vidyalaya, C-1, Yamuna ViharDelhi.
         4.         N. C. Jindal Public School, Road No.73, Punjabi BaghNew Delhi.
         5.         Sarvodya Kanya VidyalayaIdgah RoadDelhi.
         6.         GSKV, Kakrola New Delhi.
         7.         G. Co-Ed. Sr. Secondary School, Sector 6, Site 2ndDwarkaNew Delhi.
         8.         Nav Hind Girls Sr. Sec. School, New Rohtak RoadOpp. Liberty Theatre, New Delhi.

The Youth Parliament Competitions promoted by the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs now covers 1200 Schools in NCT of Delhi, 1200Kendriya Vidyalayas, 600 Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas and 300 Universities/Colleges throughout the country.

The Youth Parliament Scheme aims at familiarising the students with the practice and procedures of Parliament, techniques of discussion and debate and develop in them leadership qualities, the spirit of self discipline and tolerance of diverse opinions – all of which are hallmark of a democracy.

You May Also Like


Popular Posts